Know who is that only NBA Player who has won two Slam Dunk Championships?

NBA Slum Dunk

The NBA player Slam Dunk Contest is currently sponsored by AT&T and during 1976 it used to take place as the now-defunct ABA Championship. Prior to that in the same year, ABA got merged with the NBA, which further led to the cancelation of the event till 1984 when the Phoenix Suns Larry Nance had won the title. Since after that, a total of 25 players have won the Slam Dunk title, and the former NBA player Nate Robinson has won the title three times, and other than Nate Robinson, a total of five players have won this title Slam Dunk Championship title two times each and the two greatest players of all-time Michael Jordan and Dominique Wilkins are also the ones who have made their names in the list. 

Recommended Reads:-Paul Rudd Is a People Magazine’s Sexiest Man Alive in 2021

As per the reports and records of the active NBA players are concerned, only one player has won the title for the two consecutive years back to back in 2015 and 2016. And the name of that star NBA player is Chicago Bulls guard Zach LaVine, and he is also known as one of the best dunkers in the game which he plays and has won the award twice for his former team Minnesota Timberwolves. 

Zach is the only NBA player to win the title back to back.

As mentioned earlier, Zach LaVine is the player who has won two titles of the NBA Slam Dunk Championship back in 2015 and 2016. During the first year, his opponents included some of the most successful and potential stars, like the 2021 NBA Champions and some of them are Giannis Antetokounmpo, Victor Oladipo and Mason Plumlee all are eyeing the title alongside Zach. 

Zach went on to produce one of the best and the most memorable performances which included between-the-legs reverse, a behind-the-back slam and even had a between-the-legs left-handed dunk which he further went on to finish with a between-the-legs dunk after he went on to catch the ball of the pole behind the blackboard. 

With that again in 2016, Zach found himself vying for the same title alongside his name against the biggest rival Orlando Magic’s Aaron Gordon who had already made a reputation for himself as one of the best dunkers of the league. The other two players who participated in the Slam Dunk Championship were Will Barton and Andre Drummond in that particular year. But the two titles had landed along with the name of Zach LaVine and he has been one of the most elite dunkers in the history of the NBA, and apart from him, only Nate Robinson has won more titles in the history of the league. 

Zach is still one of the successful and elite dunkers in the NBA through his two injury-affected sessions (2016-17 and 2017-18) had created a huge impact on his dunking skills. In the very last season, Zach had scored an average of 27.4 points, 4.9 rebounds, and had 5 assists per game to finish off what was his third straight year, in which he went to score an average of 23 points per game. Zach’s team Chicago Bulls has played a brilliant offseason, and with that Zach will now look forward to taking his career to a higher level and providing many more titles alongside his name.           

Previous articleLady Gaga wears a Boa made of $100 bills which are inspired by her costume
Next articleSylvester Stallone wraps up the filming of ‘The expendables 4’, bids farewell to the series


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here